Daytona 500: Start time, how to watch and everything else

The Daytona 500 is the first race in the 2018 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series season and the biggest event of the year.

When: Coverage for the Daytona 500 begins at 2. p.m. ET on FOX on Sunday, Feb. 18. The green flag for the Daytona 500 will wave at approximately 3:05 p.m.. ET. The race is 200 laps, 500 miles and is the first of 36 races on the NASCAR calendar.

How to Watch/Listen: The race will be broadcasted live on FOX, on FOX Sports GO,  on the radio through MRN Live Streaming or SiriusXM Internet Radio.

NASCAR RaceDay will begin airing at 11 a.m. on FOX for pre-race coverage leading up to the NASCAR Pre-Race Show at 1 p.m. on FOX.

Starting Lineup: Alex Bowman set the fastest lap during qualifying and will start first, alongside Denny Hamlin. The rest of the starting lineup for the field is determined by the results from the Can-Am Duels, a pair qualifying races held the Thursday before the Daytona 500.

Race and Track Details: The race stages will end on laps 60, 120 and 200. The track is is 2.5 miles long, consists of four turns, each with 31 degrees of banking. The tri-oval is banked at 18 degrees ad the backstretch is banked at 3 degrees. The frontstretch is 3,800 feet long compared to the backstretch which is 3,400 feet. The pit road speed limit for the race will be 55 mph.

The track opened in 1959 and now seats 101,000 with 124 suites.

Other Notes: Dale Earnhardt Jr. will serve as the the Grand Marshal and give the command to start engines. Actress Charlize Theron is the Honorary Starter and will wave the green flag to start the race. Peyton Manning will be the honorary pace car driver.

Team Previews for 2018: 

Last Year: Kurt Busch won the 2017 edition of the Daytona 500 as other drivers ran out of fuel in the closing laps. Watch the video below for a recap with team audio from the 2017 Daytona 500.