Joey Logano wins at Richmond

Joey Logano won the Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond International Raceway after a wild set of restarts at the end of the 400-lap event.

It was Joey Logano’s 300th career start, he is the youngest to reach that milestone, and celebrated the milestone with a trip to victory lane.

After leading just twice for 23 laps, Logano paced the field for the final 16 laps en route to his first victory of 2017, his 18th career victory and his second win at Richmond.

Logano started the race from the 37th starting position out of the 38 cars who started the race at Richmond. This was due to a transmission change after qualifying.

“I am proud of the effort of the team,” Logano said. “We executed under pressure today and brought a car that was a 5th-to-10th place car home to Victory Lane.”

The caution flag didn’t fly that often during the race until the end during a series of cautions that set up the final stretch. With 30 laps to go,  Brad Keselowski and Logano stayed out on the track while the rest of the leaders visited pit road for tires. Six laps later, another caution flew but this time around, five cars stayed out which placed Logano further back in the pack. But it didn’t matter, it look Logano just two laps to pass race leader Kyle Larson.

Brad Keselowski finished second, followed by Denny Hamlin, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Kevin Harvick, Jamie McMurray, Ryan Newman, Kurt Busch, Aric Almirola, and Martin Truex Jr. to round out the top ten.

Earlier in the race, Brad Keselowski won the second stage after taking the lead from Matt Kenseth on lap 164.  Up until that lead change, Kenseth led the entire race, including winning Stage 1, the first stage win by Joe Gibbs Racing since the Daytona 500.



Race Statistics

Average Speed of Race Winner: 93.685 mph.

Time of Race: 3 hours, 12 minutes, 8 seconds.

Margin of Victory: 0.775 seconds.

Caution Flags: 9 for 53 laps.

Lead Changes: 18 among 8 drivers.

Leaders Summary (Driver, Times Led, Laps Led): M.Kenseth, 2 times for 162 laps; B.Keselowski, 6 times for 104 laps; D.Hamlin, 3 times for 56 laps; R.Newman, 1 time for 24 laps; J.Logano, 2 times for 23 laps; K.Harvick, 3 times for 8 laps; K.Larson, 1 time for 4 laps; Ky.Busch, 1 time for 0 laps.

Top 16 in Points: 1. K.Larson, 398; 2. M.Truex, 358; 3. C.Elliott, 346; 4. J.Logano, 333; 5. B.Keselowski, 327; 6. K.Harvick, 286; 7. J.McMurray, 282; 8. J.Johnson, 270; 9. C.Bowyer, 266; 10. Ky.Busch, 235; 11. D.Hamlin, 231; 12. R.Blaney, 229; 13. R.Newman, 225; 14. T.Bayne, 216; 15. R.Stenhouse, 201; 16. E.Jones, 193.